Natives II

First Nations 


The traditional territory of 

Algonquin, Cree, Blackfoot, Métis, Nakota Sioux, Iroquois, Dene, and Ojibway/Saulteaux/Anishinaabe Nations & Lands

The EMMI Catholic respects the sovereignty, lands, histories, languages, knowledge systems, and cultures of First Nations, Métis and Inuit nations.

First Nations (French: Premières Nations) is a term used to identify Indigenous Canadians who are neither Inuit nor Métis. Traditionally, First Nations in Canada were peoples who lived south of the tree line and mainly south of the Arctic Circle. There are 634 recognized First Nations governments or bands across Canada. Roughly half are located in the provinces of Ontario and British Columbia.

North American indigenous peoples have cultures spanning thousands of years. Some of their oral traditions accurately describe historical events, such as the Cascadia earthquake of 1700 and the 18th-century Tseax Cone eruption. Written records began with the arrival of European explorers and colonists during the Age of Discovery in the late 15th century. European accounts by trappers, traders, explorers, and missionaries give important evidence of early contact culture. In addition, archeological and anthropological research, as well as linguistics, have helped scholars piece together an understanding of ancient cultures and historic peoples.

Les Premières Nations (en anglais : First Nations) sont les peuples autochtones du Canada inscrits et non-inscrits en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, à l'exception des Inuits et des Métis. L'expression s'est répandue dans les années 1970 afin de remplacer le mot « Indiens », jugé offensant Nombre de collectivités autochtones ont adopté l’expression « Première Nation » pour remplacer l'expression « bande indienne », le cas échéant, l'expression s'emploie plutôt pour désigner précisément le groupe d'autochtones en question.

Sur plus d'un million de personnes qui se définissent comme autochtones au Canada, 64 % font partie des Premières Nations. Ils se répartissent en 50 nations ou groupes linguistiques et 617 communautés. La majorité (54 %) des membres des Premières Nations vivent en milieu urbain et non plus en réserve.